In Which I Make My Boss A Present

Now knee-deep in my first holiday season as an independent, working adult, I was faced with the quandary of whether I needed to get my boss a gift for the holidays. After some consultation with my co-workers (as you do), I made up my mind – I was going to make her something tasty.

My boss is very fond of almond joys, a candy I find incredibly repulsive (I don’t like coconut), thereby making it doubly appealing – I could make her some almond-joy-esque candies, and I would not be tempted to eat any myself.

Let me say – the cooking process did not go so well. We’ve got a very sensitive fire/smoke alarm in our apartment, and I managed to trigger not once, but twice during my chocolate ordeal. The first time, I thought I was burning the melting chocolate. (Which I was, a little. We need a microwave.) The second time, I realized that no, instead I was burning the almonds I was meant to be toasting, almonds that were now tiny blobs of charcoal.

Oy. When I finally got through the process, however, the candy looked like this:

Homemade Almond Joys

Homemade Almond Joys

Not bad, right? And according to the Boy, they tasted okay as well!

I packaged them up in a little festive Chinese-take-out-style purchased from CVS, and I’ll be delivering them tomorrow on our last day at work before the holiday break!

Candy gift container from CVS

Candy Container from CVS…so cute!

Homemade Almond Joy Cups
Adapted from http://www.sophistimom.com

I can’t really speak to whether these were good, since I dislike the coconuts so strongly, but Dan says they were. As noted, I screwed them up royally, so if you made them right I think they’d be even better! Either way, they’re awfully cute.

3/4 cup dried flaked coconut (Use unsweetened if possible, but I used regular sweetened.)

3-4 tablespoons sweetened condensed milk
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 bag of milk chocolate chips
1/4 cup toasted almonds

1. Mix the coconut with the condensed milk and the vanilla in the food processor (for best results), or by hand. It should be thick and sticky. Add more milk or coconut as necessary, to achieve Almond Joy center consistency.

2. Line a mini muffin tin with about ten to twelve paper liners. Melt about half of the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl, in 30 second intervals, stirring well after each. Pour about a teaspoon of melted chocolate into the bottom of each liner. Shake the tray back and forth to distribute the chocolate. Put in about a teaspoon and a half of the coconut mixture into each, and top with an almond. Pour chocolate over the top of each. Shake the tray to distribute the chocolate evenly. Melt more chocolate as necessary.

3. Place in the fridge until cooled and hardened.

Homemade Almond Joys by our Christmas tree

Hanging out by the tree. Tiny muffin pans & liners courtesy of Mom.

Leave a Reply

