In Which We Stew

Beef stew. I have to start out by saying, I didn’t LOVE this recipe. I didn’t. It’s good, don’t get me wrong. It’s just not great. And that might be partly my fault. I’m not sure I did it right. Follow along with me and let’s see, huh?
I started with chopping. It’s so nice when all the chopping is done and you feel like you have a sous chef. Even if you did it all yourself:
Onion, carrots, potatoes.

Then the Boy seared the meat before plopping it into the crockpot (Do I seem obsessed with our crock-pot? Because I am. Thank goodness my parents were not. Since it was originally their crockpot).

Meat a’cookin.

I think that may have been the step we mis-took.  I’m not blaming the Boy, exactly, but at some point the meat got a tad overcooked, and I suspect it may have been over-seared. Sorry, Boy.

Anyway, you pile a bunch more stuff in the crock-pot and turn it on. FOR EIGHT HOURS. That’s some serious crock-potting.

Stuff in the pot.

And at the end you have a bowl of stew! The issue was, when crock-potting, you want the meat to be very tender and delicious, and this was a bit…dry. Hence, I think overcooked. And the whole thing could’ve used a little more punch and pizzaz…

Nevertheless, please try it for yourself and see if you have better results! The recipe is over at Confections of a Foodie Bride. I trust them over there, and they certainly seem to like this.

Stew
Leave a Reply

