In Which Rice Krispies Taste the Rainbow

Before I start the post, I just want to ask you to vote for a photo the Boy took, which we’ve entered into an art contest to represent the design company we’re (very) slowly feeling out…Panda & Pangolin. Just click on the image at right to vote! (And if you need any graphic design work, let us know!) If he wins, you’ll be able to buy it for your wall!
Every so often, in this busy world we all live in, I remember that I love baking! And when someone has a birthday, it gives me the excuse to make the time to do it. So thanks, B (in case she doesn’t want to be internet recognized), for demanding “goodies.”
B told me that, if I wanted suggestions, she would opt for either Funfetti cake or Rice Krispie treats. I thought, why not both? And so, thanks to the zany and wonderful brain of Peabody of Culinary Confections by Peabody, I set to work on Funfetti Krispie treats.
Now, not being a big fan of rice krispie treats (I really only like marshmallows in their campfire-roasted form), I’d never made them before. Yes, even as a child. Yes, I know, I’m deprived. Anyway.
Apparently you start with a pot full of marshmallows:
Voila – marshmallows.

These melt until they are a big gooey mess. Were I a marshmallow lover, this is when I would insert my face into the pot. Luckily for all involved, I am not.

Melty marshmallows.

Then you add in cake mix – yep, just the boxed kind (funfetti, of course), follow by the rice krispies. This gets very hard to stir (that’s how you know you’re doing it right. I did not know I was doing it right, but I assumed. These are not the rocket science of baking).

I also threw in a bunch more sprinkles to add some extra color. These were birthday treats, after all!

Stirring in the cereal.

Then you smush the whole thing into a pan – this is kind of fun – carefully lined with parchment paper. At least I lined it with parchment paper. Apparently that’s not in the recipe, but I’m 95% sure I didn’t get that idea on my own…weird.

Anyhoo, you let it cool. At this point I suppose you have a rice krispie cake. I suppose you could take it out whole and write Happy Birthday on it. But I did not do that.

Ready for cutting!

Instead, I neatly cut them into pretty little funfetti rice krispie squares. Aren’t they cute?

Funfetti Rice Krispie Treats!

Funfetti Krispie Treat
These pretty much just tasted like regular rice krispie treats to me (though maybe if I were more of a connoisseur of such things, I would have noticed the difference), but they were tasty and awfully cute. You might need more cake mix for the taste? Or just better taste buds. Anyway, they’re a fun and super-easy birthday treat.

6 tbs. unsalted butter

1 16-ounce bag of mini marshmallows
1/4 cup Funfetti cake mix (next time I will use more)
½ cup sprinkles (more if you like, I used the ones that came with it)
12 ounces Rice Krispies Cereal

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat and add marshmallows. Stir until they begin to melt, adding in cake mix one spoonful at a time so its combined.
Stir in cereal so it is completely coated with marshmallow mixture. Sprinkle in sprinkles and mix. Press into a baking dish (9 by 13…but you need tall sides). Let sit for about 30 minutes before cutting. I find spraying a knife with nonstick spray helps to cut them.
Leave a Reply

