Eating Out: The Pikey

The Boy and I LOVE brunch. Love brunch. Loooooove brunch. We go to brunch like, once a week, at one of the umpteen places in Los Angeles that we are constantly adding to our list of “to try” restaurants. He’s a savory bruncher and I, for the most part, am a sweet bruncher. Basically, I want everything to taste like dessert. Including dinner. Don’t judge.
Anyway, we rarely repeat a brunch restaurant, since the amount of places we want to try is rapidly outgrowing the amount of places we are physically able to. But we’ve been to The Pikey twice. Why, you ask? I’ll tell you why: crumpets.

The Pikey is an English pub-style restaurant, and the first time we went there, in addition to whatever else I got, I got a crumpet. A crumpet is like the English muffin’s actually-English cousin, who’s just…better. Served with clotted cream and honeycomb, it’s light and bouncy and amazing. I could pretty much just eat crumpets for brunch.

But this time, on our second visit, we also got a biscuit. With maple honey butter. I KNOW.

The biscuit, if it’s at all possible, was even better than the crumpet. Crispy and golden on the outside, fluffy on the inside, and doused in the sweet, sweet nectar of melty butter and maple syrup…ooh, we may have to do a third trip to The Pikey.

In the interest of appeasing the savory bruncher, we also ordered Toad-in-a-Hole, but its syrupy goodness turned out to actually be a bit on the sweeter side (sorry, hon). Hopefully the crispy bacon made up for all the sugar.

We keep planning to try The Pikey for dinner, but for now, I can only (well, with good conscience) recommend brunch. That said, if you give it a try otherwise, let me know. I bet it’s tasty.

The Pikey on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

