And Then There Were Four

 So…it’s a been a while. I know, I know. I started a new position at my company at the beginning of this year, and while it’s been awesome, it’s also been go-go-go. So I’m not going to make any promises about how often I’ll be posting, but I will try to do so every so often. For important occasions. Like this one.

We.
Have.
Cats.

Yes, you read that correctly. Cats. As in plural. As in two. As in I went from being a dog-loving, no-pet person to a crazy cat lady in…well, in one fateful visit to Petco.

Now, to be fair, we wanted a cat. The Boy grew up with cats, and with the aforementioned job business (the Boy started a new job at the end of last year, so we’re sailing in the same boat), a dog just wasn’t in the cards. So we looked for a kitten. One kitten.

“But they’ll be lonely! If you get a kitten, you need two!” Said every rescue organization ever. Ok, we thought. Two kittens. We can do two kittens. But of course, we didn’t get kittens. We got cats. Two cats. No one required us to get two cats. But I think all that talk about lonely got into our heads, and well…here they are.

That dude up there is Tesla. He’s 9 months old. He’s a big attention slut.

This lady here is Taiga. Taiga means “frozen forest.” She’s a very catlike cat, meaning she only likes us at 4am, when we’re sleeping. However, she then takes it upon herself to purr loudly, next to your face, and bite your chin. With love. All with love. Oh, and she just turned one last week.

I love them so much I want to crush their tiny adorable faces. With love. Duh.

And they might hide from us sometimes (was it that thing I said about the face-crushing?)…but they love us too.

Oh, and in other news, we live in a house now. More on that later. I have to go squash a cat.

Leave a Reply

