No Recipe Required: Avocado "Sushi Rice" Bowl

This post is not a fancy post. The (single) photo isn’t that good. There’s isn’t really a recipe. But this is my favorite meal when the Boy is not home and I don’t feel like putting a whole lot of work into food, so I’m sharing it.

Yep, that’s it. It’s not very pretty, but it is delicious. Here’s the recipe as best as I can tell it:

Avocado “Sushi Rice” Bowl
By Kelly Perron

I have a deep love affair with sushi rice, sweet-sour flavor, and vinegar, so once I figured out how to cram the idea of all that into a less-than-15-minute dinner, it was all over.

Yield: 1 Serving

Ingredients:
1 cup cooked grains, still warm (Brown rice is the most authentic, but here I used cous cous – it cooks in five minutes and I love it.)
2 tablespoons rice vinegar, or to taste
1 teaspoon sugar, or to taste
1 ripe avocado
3-5 sheets dried seaweed (Trader Joe’s sells these in 99-cent packs. They’re also a great snack.
Soy sauce, to taste

Directions
Mix your grains with rice vinegar and sugar in a bowl. Add more rice vinegar or sugar to taste (I also should warn you I am a vinegar fiend, so you might want to start with less than I suggest. But hey, I think it’s delicious).

Slice your avocado and place atop grains. Tear or cut seaweed into roughly one-inch pieces. Scatter over avocado. Drizzle with soy sauce. Enjoy!

One thought on “No Recipe Required: Avocado "Sushi Rice" Bowl

Leave a Reply

