Happy Thanksgiving: Pearl Onions in Honey and Balsamic

A Happy Thanksgiving to all and to all a good meal!

Today will actually mark my third Thanksgiving of the year, and my second “Friendsgiving” – we did family Thanksgiving a week early due to everyone’s wonky schedules. Today’s Thanksgiving, like Thanksgiving number one, will be a potluck and I’m bringing pie. The dish I’m sharing with you today, however, is from my first Thanksgiving (confused yet?), and is so deliciously simple you actually might be able to throw it together for tonight, if you happen to have frozen pearl onions on hand.

This recipes is from the drop-dead-gorgeous blog Adventures in Cooking, but I took the great liberty of subbing in frozen pearl onions instead of fresh because the first grocery store I went to didn’t have pearl onions of any kind and I got into a pressed-for-time situation.

So, I defrosted/reheated/sort-of-cooked the onions according to the package instructions and then, following Eva’s directions, warmed olive oil with bay leaves.

Once the oil gets hot, you add in the onions and some salt and get everything nice and stirred and coated.

In goes balsamic vinegar…

And finally some vegetable broth and honey. You let this cook down and keep sneaking bites until everything is gloriously reduced and syrupy and tender and yummy. And then, if you’re me, you throw the top back on the pot, tie the spoon to the handle with a dish towel, and set off just a bit late for Friendsgiving.

Every last one of these got eaten, so I’d say they were a great success. I’ll let you know how the pies go.

And in the spirit of Thanksgiving: I am thankful for my friends, my Boy, my family, my kitties, and you. Whoever you are. Assuming you’ve put up with this post thus far, I am thankful for you.

Pearl Onions in Honey & Balsamic
Adapted very slightly from Eva of Adventures in Cooking
This is Eva’s recipe, with my adjustments for making with frozen onions. Everything still tasted delicious, but if you’re a purist check out her page for how to use fresh onions. This is a deliciously sweet-savory side dish, and very simple to make as you just have to be around the kitchen to make sure it doesn’t burn while it’s reducing (and on Thanksgiving we’re all hanging around the kitchen anyway, right?). I tripled this to make it for twenty people (nobody had huge servings), and it was all eaten, so I’m approximating serving size here.
Yield: 4-6 Servings
Ingredients
1 pound peeled, frozen pearl onions
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 bay leaf
1/3 cup vegetable stock
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon honey
Pinch of salt
Directions
Cook/reheat onions according to the package directions. Drain and set aside.
In a sauté pan, warm the bay leaf in the oil over medium-high heat. When the oil is shimmering, add the onions and a pinch of salt and stir to coat onions with oil. Add the vinegar and let cook, stirring, for about 1 minute. Add the broth and honey and stir to blend. Let the liquid come to a boil, then reduce the heat, cover, and simmer until onions are soft and the sauce is reduced to a syrupy glaze (about 15-20 minutes). Serve hot, warm, or at room temperature.
Leave a Reply

