Eating In: Butternut Squash Rotini

So, as I’ve mentioned, the Boy and I get a CSA box every other week, and while it has totally inspired us to eat more veggies, we are also constantly struggling to think of ways to use up all the awesome produce before it goes bad. Which is what inspired this dish – a dish I actually MADE UP MYSELF one lazy night with the sole purpose of using the butternut squash we’d received in our box.

Ok, it’s not groundbreaking. But it’s easy and tasty!

I’ll tell you, peeling and cubing butternut squash is no easy task – but I think I did a grocery-store-worthy job:

A little salt, a little pepper, some olive oil and into the oven!

The box also came with fresh sage, so as I cooked the squash and some rotini, I browned some butter with sage.

I added in some heavy cream left over from making a dessert, some freshly grated parmesan, and tossed everything together with a little leftover why-not-clean-out-the-fridge goat cheese…

And voila! Dinner! Topped with a little more parm, the pasta had nice sweetness from the squash and salt from the cheese. Simple? Sure! But I DID IT WITHOUT A RECIPE PEOPLE. And it has more than five ingredients. Small victories.


Butternut Squash Rotini
By Yours Truly 🙂

I will admit I don’t usually make up my own recipes, so if something seems a bit off here or I totally mixed up the order of everything or you’ve got a way to make it better, don’t only go ahead and change it – let me know! Either way, I NEVER cook without a recipe, so I was pretty pleased with myself.

Yield: 4 Servings

Ingredients
1 medium butternut squash, peeled and diced (1 inch cubes)
2 tablespoons olive oil
Salt
Pepper
4 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 sage leaves
7 ounces rotini pasta
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup parmesan cheese, grated, plus extra
2 ounces goat cheese

Directions
Preheat oven to 400°F. Toss squash with olive oil, salt, and pepper and spread on a baking sheet. Bake until tender and starting to brown, 20-30 minutes.

Meanwhile, cook your rotini according to the package directions.

Once the pasta and squash are done (or just about done), brown the butter in a deep skillet with the sage leaves. Browning butter can be tricky – keep an eye on it! Once the butter is brown, add the cream and parmesan cheese and follow with the pasta and butternut squash. Mix everything together to coat, then add in the goat cheese and additional salt and pepper to taste, if desired.

Serve up the pasta with more parmesan on top!

Leave a Reply

