Eating In: Orange Avocado Salad

A little while ago, my Best Friend Forever gifted me Erin Gleeson’s The Forest Feast and, especially since we started getting a CSA box, it has rapidly become the most-used cookbook in my kitchen. The recipes are simple and relatively healthy, cover the vegetable spectrum, and each one is accompanied by a drop-dead gorgeous picture (the most important thing, am I right?). 
Many of them aren’t what you’d consider “main” dishes (which hasn’t stopped us from using them as such one dinner or another), but they’re all so straightforward that it’s easy to make a few and pair them together for a fresh, bright meal. 
For instance, take this Orange Avocado Salad – simple, unexpected, delicious. Oh, and gorgeous – did I mention that?

It’s so easy to throw together, and if you live in California (yes, yes, I know, East Coasters – we have it good) you probably have everything you need sitting in your kitchen. Plus, for those of you who are sick of winter, it tastes like summer! Let’s be honest, you might need that right now.


Orange Avocado Salad
From The Forest Feast by Erin Gleeson

Erin Gleeson has gorgeous instructions for how to make those pretty avocado rounds on her site (and in the book) that I totally did not follow when I made this. Learn from my mistakes.

Yield: 2-4 Servings

Ingredients
2 oranges
2 avocados
2 tablespoons chopped scallions
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
Olive oil
Salt

Directions
Peel and slice the avocado and oranges into rounds. Layer alternating on a plate.

Sprinkle chopped scallions and cilantro over and drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle with sea salt and serve!

I was not compensated for this post. All the opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

