Eating Out: Wexler’s Deli

I hosted a Girls’ Night the other night, which I took as an excuse to go explore the downtown L.A. Flower Market (more on that in a later post). After my early-morning floral excursions, I decided to use my presence downtown as yet a second excuse – this time, to visit Wexler’s Deli in Grand Central Market.

I’d been reading about Wexler’s in various food publications and blogs pretty much since it opened, and while it was a bit of a betrayal to go while the Boy was out of town (I totally owe him a bagel), I couldn’t resist.

As with most establishments in Grand Central Market, Wexler’s occupies a small, simple stall, with a counter to order at and a few bar stools to perch on (there is additional seating elsewhere in the Market). Wexler’s takes elements of the traditional deli – the simple menu board and jars of pickles – and mixes it with the trendy and modern – subway tile covered in deli-themed graffiti.

The menu is simple, but at the same time offers a LOT of choices. This being my first time, I decided on a basic bagel. But smoked sturgeon (more exotic) or smoked salmon (more familiar, and hence a better measure of goodness)? Luckily, the woman helping me pointed out that, although it wasn’t on the menu, I could get half and half. Whew.

Her recommendation was excellent, as the two types of fish complemented each other perfectly – the salmon some of the silkiest and mildest I’d ever had, while the sturgeon definitely had a punchier, smokier hit. The bagels were chewy and luscious, and overall it was definitely one of my better bagel experiences (and I. Love. Bagels.). At $11 a pop, these chickies ain’t cheap, but the quality of the fish was definitely worth it, in my opinion.

Next time, I’m going after the smoked fish plate! I think I need the Boy with me for that one.

Wexler’s Deli
Grand Central Market
317 S. Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90013

Wexler's Deli on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

