What Shall We Do Today: L.A. Flower Market

As I told you last week, I hit up the downtown L.A. Flower Market for a Girls’ Night I was hosting at mi casa. A bunch of us were taking advantage of the fact that the Boy was out of town with an assortment of wine and goodies, and I thought it would be fun to have some sort of activity as a part of our evening.

So, with “flower arranging” nebulously in mind (two of my friends are brides-to-be, after all), I set off for the Flower Market. At 6:30am.

The flower market is essentially a big warehouse in downtown L.A., filled with a variety of vendors selling flowers. Many of these flowers are sorted into buckets, some with prices attached and some without. Everything is pretty affordable, though it definitely varies, and the only limit on what you can buy is what you can carry. Admission was $1 early Saturday morning, though I know accessibility and price varies depending on the day and time (you have to get there early to make sure everything isn’t totally picked over).

I walked and ogled for quite some time before I started filling the big bag I’d brought with newspaper-wrapped flower bunches…

In the end, I came home with $30 worth of flowers:

I stopped at the 99 Cents store for some cute little containers, and laid them out with the flowers, some ribbon, and my new book The Flower Recipe Book by Alethea Harampolis and Jill Rizzo for inspiration.

In the end, the six of us made six adorable little arrangements, and there were enough flowers left over for me to make a bonus seventh for my home.

I will definitely be going back to the flower market – if I was just shopping for myself, I could get quite the arrangement for $15 or $20! I just have to find a Saturday where I feel like getting up that early…

754 Wall St (between 7th & 8th)
Los Angeles, CA 90014
One thought on “What Shall We Do Today: L.A. Flower Market

Leave a Reply

