Snack Time: Spiced Apple Chips

Every so often, when I’m at work and the only choices for snacks are the last three Brazil nuts in the mixed nuts container (Are Brazil nuts really cheap or something? Why even include them? No one likes Brazil nuts.) or a handful of some sort of generic brand cornflakes, I think to myself “I should buy snacks when we go grocery shopping.” 97.2% of the time, Sunday (when I do my grocery shopping) rolls around and SURPRISE! I’ve totally forgotten.
The other 2.8% of the time, I get my act together and prepare for/purchase some healthy snacks I can bring to work to stop me from shoving an uncooked bag of maple and brown sugar oatmeal down my throat at 4pm.
Which brings me to these Spiced Apple Chips, courtesy of A Cozy Kitchen.

These chips take a bit of time, but if you have a mandoline, they are supremely easy. You slice up a few apples super thin (You don’t have to peel or core them! God Bless America.), shake them in a bag with some spices, and pop them into the oven at low heat for a couple of hours. You let them cool, and voila! Snacks!

I found that after being stored, my chips erred on the side of chewy versus crispy, but they were still enjoyable if occasionally a tad overspiced (thereby losing some of the apple flavor). They are quite healthy and endlessly customizable, so the next time my CSA box sends me too many apples, I’ll give it another shot! And hopefully, I’ll also stop stealing bites of my co-worker’s hummus.

Spiced Apple Chips
From A Cozy Kitchen

I might cut down on the spices on these a touch, though I also think you can definitely customize the blend to your taste – the one I’d be sure to keep is the salt, which adds a nice unexpected savoriness. My apples took a bit longer to get crispy, but I’d imagine it depends on your apple variety, so just keep an eye on them or test a chip after the time in the recipe.

Yield: About 50 Chips

Ingredients
1 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon cardamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
3 apples

Directions
Preheat oven to 200F. Line two baking sheets with parchment.

In a medium bowl, mix together spices and salt.

Crosswise, cut off both ends of each of the apples. There’s no need to core the apples. Using a mandoline (or sharp knife), slice the apples as thin as possible. (Approximately 1/16″ inch). Remove and discard any seeds from the apple slices. Add the apple slices to the bowl and toss with the spice mixture.

Transfer the apple slices to the baking sheets, in a single layer, being sure they do not overlap. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes, then flip them over. Bake for another 30-45 minutes, or until crispy in appearance. Total baking time: 1 hour and 15 minutes.

They’ll become crispier after they cool.

Leave a Reply

