Eating In: Weeknight Miso Soup

When I saw the miso soup on The Crepes of Wrath, I was immediately intrigued – and skeptical. Could miso soup REALLY be dinner? So, I made it. And while it is a light dinner, with the poached egg, I’m now convinced – I think.
The soup definitely isn’t your average miso soup – it’s chock-full of stuff, and stuff with substance – mushrooms and tofu for protein, accented with shallots and scallions and nori and ginger and of course – that key poached egg (god, I love a poached egg).

You start off, once all your bits and bobs are sliced and chopped (why does that always take longer than I think?), by sautéing.

Once everything is sautéed, in goes the water, and then, the miso (carefully using a separate bowl-whisky-method – thanks, Sydney) and voilá – soup! You stir in some more stuff, season to taste, and serve. Oh, and in the meantime or beforehand or sometime, poach an egg or four.

In the end, the soup had enough going for it that I think it was fair to call it dinner, if one that fell on the lighter end of the spectrum. The poached egg was definitely key. I did wish it had a bit more flavor, but I think that would be easy to adjust. We added in some sriracha, which helped. I still definitely prefer the original version of miso soup followed by a main course of sushi, but this is a fun little twist.

Weeknight Miso Soup
From The Crepes of Wrath

I think if I made this again I would add more miso – though admittedly my miso was a bit on the older side – but I think that once the egg was eaten up, it needed a little punch. I did add some soy sauce, and maybe it just needed more seasoning. The sriracha definitely helped, but overall I think I wanted a bit more miso taste for my miso soup.

Yield: 4 Servings

Ingredients
2 teaspoons sesame oil
2 cups mushrooms, roughly chopped or sliced
1 shallot, minced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 1-inch piece of ginger, minced
8 cups water
¼ cup white miso paste
1 block firm tofu, dried and cut into bite-sized cubes
2 sheets nori (seaweed), sliced
3 scallions, thinly sliced
3-4 eggs, poached (optional) [not optional in my opinion!]

Directions
Heat your sesame oil over medium heat in a large pot. Add in your mushrooms and shallot, and cook for 5 minutes or so, until the mushrooms begin to sweat. Add in your garlic and ginger and cook for another minute or two, until fragrant.

Add in your water and bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Place your miso paste in a medium sized bowl, then spoon 1 cup of hot water over it. Whisk to combine, then pour this mixture back into your soup – this ensures that your miso doesn’t clump up in your soup. Bring the mixture to a simmer and cook for 5 minutes.

Add in your cubed tofu, sliced nori and scallions. Stir to combine, taste and adjust seasonings as necessary. You can add a little soy sauce or salt if you feel like the soup needs it.

Spoon your soup into bowls, then add a poached egg to each bowl. This will keep well for up to 3 days in the refrigerator [probably without the egg].

Leave a Reply

