No Recipe Required: Carrot & Zucchini Ribbon Pasta

First off – the title of this post is “No Recipe Required,” but I want to make clear that this is indeed a recipe, and not my recipe, but the recipe of the brilliant Erin Gleeson from her cookbook The Forest Feast. And “No Recipe Required” is not meant to cast aspersions on her recipe, but instead to compliment her on creating something so easy and simple that I (who cling to recipes like safety blankets) feel like I can now confidently throw this together without looking at the recipe and hence feel all chef-y and talented. Also, this is a recipe that could lend itself so easily to many, many variations and adjustments, which I think is another mark of a great home-cook recipe.
I’ll give you the basics, but you should really get the book since her way of showing it to you is far more beautiful. Also, all CSA boxes should point their customers straight to that book. No, I’m not getting paid for this.
First off, you start some fettuccine (eight ounces or so) cooking. While it cooks, ribbon two carrots and two zucchini. I used a mandoline. I think I might have used one zucchini, which worked out just fine. You also chop up a ton of garlic (five cloves, though I probably did six).

All your chopped stuff goes in a big skillet with olive oil, salt, and pepper and sautés for five minutes. 

Then, you add in the cooked pasta, a tablespoon of fresh chopped thyme leaves, and a tablespoon of butter. The butter melts, and you mix it all up and serve it. A slightly more virtuous way to have pasta, and an easy and delicious one at that. Plus, I know a few of you are probably about to be ROLLING in zucchini, so you’re welcome.

I was not compensated for this post. All the opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

