Eating In: Sweet Potato “Nacho” Bowl

It’s the new year, and I’m not gonna pretend I’m not just like the rest of you – looking for “healthy” recipes that undo some of the holiday deliciousness while still fitting in with this wintry weather (yes, even in L.A. – we had a real rain storm the other day!).

My beloved bowls often fit the bill, especially when they involve sweet potatoes. And although I adapted The Jungalow‘s recipe slightly away from its nacho-y origins, it’s still got a touch of the goodness that makes nachos the joy that they are.

Sweet Potato "Nacho" Bowls


In Danae’s version, which I’ll admit might be even tastier (I haven’t tasted it but have my suspicions), she uses baked sweet potato fries, but as I had two sweet potatoes languishing away on the counter, I decided to make this slightly less nacho-y and more bowl-y (Kelly is my name, inventing adjectives is my game) and use baked sweet potato coins.

Sweet Potato Slices

The other main “cooking” component of this – it’s a good simple recipe for weeknights, also a plus – is the black beans, which are cooked with minced garlic, cumin, and salt for some extra punch.

Cooking Black Beans

Bowl assembly is simple as well – potatoes, black beans, and all the fixings (the green avocados and cilantro make for a very pretty picture with the orange of the potatoes poking through).

Sweet Potato Bowl Assembly

And voila! A lovely, hearty, nutritious nacho bowl! And did I mention it’s vegetarian?

Sweet Potato "Nacho" Bowls

Sweet Potato Nachos
Adapted from  Danae Horst for The Jungalow

So as I mentioned, I suspect the sweet potato fries in the original recipe might be crispier than my coins, and that was my main criticism of this dish – it could have used some more crunch! I would err on the side of slicing the coins thin, and cooking them to extra-crispiness.

Prep Time: 20 min
Yield: 4-6 Servings

Ingredients
2 sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into “coins”
Spices for potatoes (salt, pepper, cumin, paprika, etc.)
2 (15 oz) cans whole black beans
2 teaspoons olive oil + extra for potatoes
2 tablespoons minced garlic
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 avocados
Cotija cheese (to taste)
Cilantro leaves (to garnish)

Directions
Preheat oven to 450°F. Lay potatoes in a single layer on a backing sheet (ideally, leave some space between them). Brush with olive oil and season with spices. Cook for 18-22 minutes, until golden brown and crisp.

Meanwhile, in a medium sauce pan, sauté minced garlic in olive oil until fragrant. Rinse black beans, with cold water, drain, and add to pan. Add cumin and salt. Simmer on medium-low, stirring occasionally to prevent burning.

While fries are baking and beans are simmering, dice avocado and prep washed cilantro by stripping whole leaves off by hand.

When potatoes are crispy, assemble nachos by layering beans, avocado, cheese, and cilantro over the potato slices.

Sweet Potato "Nacho" Bowls

Leave a Reply

