Eating In: “Asian” Rice Bowl with Roasted Broccoli

I only subscribe to one magazine (ok, so my Mom originally gave me the subscription and occasionally renews it as a gift, but I have and totally would pay for it even if she were to stop being so generous), and that magazine is Bon Appetít. I love it. If I lived in New York I would totally have stalked them for a job like seventeen times by now. Anyway…

Their last issue was the “New Year” issue, and involved many healthier and prep-ahead recipes to fulfill all the New Year’s Resolution needs that were happily floating around waiting to be cast aside. Being an aforementioned lover of bowls, I was instantly drawn to a section revolving around doing a bunch of delicious mise-en-place in advance and then throwing all that mise-en-place into various things throughout the week to make them feel fancy and delicious. Not being that prepared of a human, I made a very specific three items with plans to make my own version of one of Bon Appetít’s throw-together recipes: Stir Fried Black Rice with Fried Egg and Roasted Broccoli.

"Asian" Rice Bowl

I’m not going to give you that particular recipe, though Bon Appetít has it on offer, along with all of their many mise-en-place options. However, I’ll tell you a little about my version of it – and I’ll show a new thing I’m trying, a fun GIF (Mom, if you don’t know, that means a kind of moving picture that the internet is obsessed with)!

My slightly-less-fancy-bowl-than-Bon-Appetít started with plain brown rice, followed with their Roasted Broccoli with Nutritional Yeast (my slight variation on that recipe is below), sliced avocado, a fried egg, their Miso Turmeric Dressing, their Toasted Nori Mayonnaise, and cilantro. Ok, so this bowl might not be all that “Asian,” but it sort of had that feel and I don’t know what else to call it, so I’m going with it. Maybe Asian Fusion? It’s the nori, so sue me.

Building the "Asian" Bowl

Anyway, it was freakin’ DELICIOUS. I can definitively say that all three of the Bon Appetít mise-en-place items were awesome, so I’d imagine you’d have luck exploring a few more. Well played, favorite magazine. Well played.

"Asian" Rice Bowl

Roasted Broccoli With Nutritional Yeast
Slightly adapted from Claire Saffitz for Bon Appetít

So, you really should check out all the links in this article to get the info straight from the source, but this way of cooking veggies is simple and undeniably great (especially if you happen to have nutritional yeast lying around, which for some reason I did). And you could totally do just this and eat this roasted broccoli cold for a snack. I did it. Plus, we all know how much I love MAKE AHEAD stuff. Win win win all around.

Yield: About 4 Cups

Ingredients
2 small heads of broccoli, cut into florets with some stalk attached
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

Preparation
Preheat oven to 425°. Toss broccoli with oil on a rimmed baking sheet to coat; season with salt and pepper. Roast until deep golden brown and tender, 20–25 minutes. Let cool slightly, then toss with nutritional yeast.

Do Ahead: Veggies can be made 5 days ahead. Cover and chill.

I was not compensated for this post. All the opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Eating In: “Asian” Rice Bowl with Roasted Broccoli

Leave a Reply

