Eating Out in Solvang: Solvang Restaurant

As I mentioned in my overview of our trip to Solvang, the one thing I was determined to experience during the trip was aebleskiver. I knew they were like donuts (yum) and like pancakes (yum) and they seemed to generally be like fluffy goodness. Plus, they’re a Solvang specialty, so how could we not try them?!

Our last day there, we set out in search of said aebleskiver. Of course, this happened to be at Sunday brunch time, so most of the sit-down restaurants that had them on offer were thronged with people and beset with long waits – and then we found Solvang Restaurant.

Aebleskivers

I will be the first to admit I have no idea how Solvang Restaurant is as an actual restaurant. It appears to be something of an institution in the town, and there was a throng of people clamoring to sit down there as well. All that mattered to me? It had an aebleskiver take-out window.

Solvang Restaurant

Aebleskiver Window

That’s right – for the mere price of $4, you could get three piping hot (and pretty large) aebleskiver served with jam and powdered sugar. They were making a new batch when I ordered, which I got to watch through the window. The aebleskiver are cooked in a special sort of rounded muffin pan (I’ve seen special pans for making them at home that have both a top and bottom, but here someone was just rotating them with stick to cook them all the way around). It was fun to see how they were made (and in what quantities!).

Making Aebleskivers

Finally, I had fresh aebleskiver in hand! And the verdict? They’re yummy, if not life-changing. Pancake-donut is a pretty accurate description: good fluff, definitely gotta be eaten fresh, improved (what wouldn’t be) by copious amounts of sweet jam and powdered sugar. You’ll have to let me know if you try them somewhere else in Solvang…I’m dying to know if our yummy bites were the best on offer.

Aebleskivers

Solvang Restaurant
1672 Copenhagen Dr.
Solvang, CA, 93463

Solvang Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

3 thoughts on “Eating Out in Solvang: Solvang Restaurant

Leave a Reply

