Eating Out: The Cannibal

If you’ve followed this blog for any length of time, you’re well aware that I love food. You’re probably also aware that if I had unlimited time, money, and stomach space, I would be systematically eating my way through Los Angeles’s dining scene. I don’t have any of those things, but it doesn’t mean I don’t still try my damndest to do so. So, on a day when we needed lunch and there was nothing in the house, it didn’t take too much convincing to get the Boy and me over to Culver City’s up-and-coming hot spot The Cannibal.

The Cannibal

The Cannibal, which originates from a location in New York City, is a self-described “butcher’s restaurant” where the focus is on the meat. The full restaurant, at least for now, is only open for dinner, but there is a butcher shop/sort of deli counter where you can get a curated selection of sandwiches, salads, and the like. That’s what we tried (so I can’t speak to the restaurant – yet. I did ogle some awesome-looking charcuterie boards being assembled, though).

The Cannibal Menu

I should preface this review by noting that I am a bit biased against sandwiches – they’re just not my first choice of meal. That said, I don’t dislike them, I just don’t often love them (with some notable exceptions). So take my sandwich-related thoughts with a grain of salt. Yes, I know I’m a weirdo.

When the restaurant isn’t open, the Cannibal consists of a small, warm and trendy butcher shop space with a counter and deli case, red tile wall, and  windows to the butcher section itself. Various drinks and goodies – LOOK at that pretzel, people – are on display, but as with the menu, it’s a limited selection that changes depending on what they have in. I did hear them tell a customer that regarding the butcher shop, they could probably fill particular requests if given a day or so notice, so that’s cool.

We did, indeed, order sandwiches, as that is main item available – the Boy got an (unpictured, we were hungry!) Italian Combo, and I got the Pig’s Head Cuban. The sandwiches were tasty, though not particularly inventive, and I did wish mine had a bit more acid or bite – the pig’s head was really rich (and not at all creepy, for those who might fear it would be so). Maybe some more pickles?

Nevertheless, The Cannibal seems like it’s got a good, ingredient-driven thing going, and I’d like to go back for dinner – especially because I do love a good charcuterie plate, and from what I saw, they’ve got one.

Cuban Sandwich

The Cannibal
8850 Washington Blvd
Culver City, CA 90232

Leave a Reply

