Dogwood Photography Challenge 2017: Weeks 1-4

As mentioned, the Boy and I are doing the Dogwood Photography Challenge for 2017 with a few friends. I figured I might as well start posting my efforts here, so to start getting caught up, here are Weeks 1-4! I’m also posting these to my Instagram with the appropriate hashtags as we go…

Week 1 – Story: Rule of Thirds [Shot on iPhone 6s]
The rule of thirds is the first compositional rule most photographers learn; but most don’t know why they learn it. The rule of thirds is amazing for telling a story. Tell a story using rule of thirds.

For this photo, I was waiting on a corner in Beverly Hills on a gorgeous day. I aligned the corners of this odd building above me with the grid on my phone and snapped the shot.

Dogwood Week 1

Week 2 – Technical: SOOC [Shot with Canon EF 50mm/f1.8 II]
Straight out of the Camera. No Photoshop. Shoot a compelling image and post it without edits. No cheating!

This was a tough one for me, who tends to get edit-happy, but I grit my teeth and did it…it’s a lovely camellia bush in front of my home.

Dogwood Week 2

Week 3 – Artistic: Land [Shot with Canon EF 75-300mm/f4-5.6 III]
Your inspiration this week is land. This could be a landscape, or an image inspired by the land in some way.

The Boy and I took a photo walk to capture images inspired by land. Although I also did a color edit of this one, for the challenge my final photo was a black-and-white edit of these hikers we spotted from afar, chatting across two boulders.

Dogwood Week 3

Week 4 – Story: Mirror [Shot with Canon EF 50mm/f1.8 II]
Tell a story using a mirror.

I went for self-portraiture here (note the remote in my hand), imitating some truly spectacular artists I’ve seen across the internet who do truly fabulous things with mirrors.

Dogwood Week 4

Anyone else participating in the Challenge? Would love to see what you’ve got!

One thought on “Dogwood Photography Challenge 2017: Weeks 1-4

Leave a Reply

