Dogwood Photography Challenge: Weeks 16 and 17

A few more from recent weeks of the Dogwood Photography Challenge…

Week 16 – Story: Leading Lines [Shot with Canon EF 50mm/f1.8 II]
Leading Lines are a very important compositional element that every photographer needs to master. Use leading lines to tell a story. No train tracks.

I experimented with some water feature shots and pathways before landing on this photo, which uses the leading lines of the fence to draw the eye into the distance.

Week 17 – Technical: Loop Lighting [Shot with Canon EF 50mm/f1.8 II]
Loop lighting is one of the most used portrait lighting techniques. Shoot a portrait using loop lighting. If you don’t have an off camera flash setup, get creative with how you light your subject.

My #1 model! I don’t have an external flash setup, so we “got creative” with our new porch lights – see the little “loop” shadow right under his nose? I think that means I at least partially got it right…