Dogwood Photography Challenge: Weeks 21, 22, & 23

I might be behind on my posting, but not on my photo-taking! Here are the most recent three weeks of the photography challenge…

Week 21 – Artistic: Soft [Shot with Canon EF 50mm/f1.8 II]
Your artistic inspiration this week is soft. Just like hard earlier in the challenge, soft is both and adjective and an adverb. Interpret this how you will.

We happened to be in Kaua’i the week of this challenge, and the soft, gorgeous sands of Polihale Beach made the perfect subject.

Dogwood Week 21

Week 22 – Story: Geometric Shapes [Shot with iPhone 6s]
Triangles, squares, and circles. They are all very strong compositional elements in an image. Find a way to use geometric shapes in your storytelling.

I was worried I wasn’t going to get anything good for this challenge, and then happened across this decorative wall at a mall! I didn’t have my good camera on me, but the opportunity was too good to pass up.

Dogwood Week 22

Week 23 – Technical: F/8 Portrait [Shot with Canon EF 50mm/f1.8 II]
Shoot a portrait using an aperture setting of F/8. Since this is the advanced challenge, be sure to find a way to isolate your subject other than shallow depth of field.

Portraits are tough, ’cause usually that means haranguing the Boy into posing for me against his will. Thank god for pets (my Mom’s pup in this case), am I right? I brought her outside to really pop against the flower-strewn grass.

Dogwood Week 23

Leave a Reply

